new Laser module 8w and 15w peak

• Hello all,

I've got a A3 laser with a 2.5w laser, in the same banggood deal I'm bought a 15w laser (really a 8w) to engrave some metal

this:

https://www.banggood.com/pt/445-450nm-15W-Blue-Laser-Module-Mark-On-Metal-for-DIY-Laser-Engraver-Machine-p-1137779.html?rmmds=search

I see to put in work I need a external power, and has a 12v 10a external font, but... some doubts:

1- can I use 10a in mana se to put directly the 15w module in?
    2- do a little test using a external power, and only use a pwm wire in laser module (as my energy goes to another source, I'm not plug + and - ) and the laser starts on... I can't control onf and off... someone can help or take some ideas to change this?

thank you

• I am no expert but I would think you will have to connect the mana de - to the - of the power supply to the laser. DO NOT connect the + as well.

• Developer of T2Laser Software

@rubensx Yes, but you need to connect - to - (join the ground of the Mana SE board to the ground of the laser board). It is wise for both power supplies to be on the same circuit.

• @Zax

Ouch but - from my mana se board is not the same - from the source power to laser... if I do that I'll not burn the power supply ?

Or maybe I put the 10a supply to mana and mana directly?

@rubensx You are only connecting the grounds to ensure the TTL signal has a return path. It is not possible to use one power supply as the Mana SE board isn't rated for the laser current and could (although unlikely) burn out the traces.

• @Zax

Thank you, I understood!

You mean use only one power supply (12v 10a) and makes a Y cable source, one to mana SE and other to the laser module?

Or

Can I use the original power supply in mana SE (12v 5a) and the other power supply (12v 10a) to the laser module and at last wire the 2 power supply grounds?

Just thinking about these grounds can make it...

Other fact, this module has no led switch (much desirable for me) and no focus adjust